Established 1997

Search this site

APP for your mobile device
Search for Roger Knapp
or Pediatric Advice



Jokes     Recipes     Inspiration     Miscellaneous     Pictures     Quotes



This is the beginning of the long road to eagle. When he first joins Boy Scouts the boy must Know the Pledge of Allegiance, and demonstrate the scout salute, sign, and handclasp. He must tie a square knot, which symbolizes a true and honest person. Then he has to show his understanding of and willingness to live by the Scout Oath, the Scout Law, the Scout motto, the Scout slogan, and the Outdoor Code. That means he gives his most sacred oath to do his utmost best to live by the laws of his God, the laws of his country, and the twelve scout laws, to help other people whenever he can, and to keep himself in good physical shape, to keep his mind alert, and to obey a high level of morals. The scoutmaster holds a conference with the boy to see that he is of good character and spirit. The boy then has the rank of Scout which means that he is now a certified member and can now proudly wear his Boyscout uniform.


The rank of tenderfoot if the first rank the boy strives for after becoming an official boyscout. He is very young and intimidated, but the leaders and other boys welcome him and encourage him. There are eleven requirements for this rank. Now he must repeat from memory the Oath, Law, Motto, and Slogan. He needs to whip the end of a rope and tie the two half hitches and taughtline knots that are used in pitching a tent. He must then show he can prepare and pack his gear for a campout. Then go on an overnight campout and sleep in a tent he helped setup. He should demonstrate how to raise, lower and fold the American flag. He needs to know his patrol's name, yell, and flag. He must know and agree to use the Buddy system for safe scouting. He has to do his best in pushups, pullups, situps, and running, and show improvement over 30 days. And last he has to learn the Heimlick maneuver, and first aid for minor injuries. Then the Scoutmaster reviews his progress with him. And the last step is the board of review, which after carefull review his qualifications, grants him his Tenderfoot Rank.


Now the boys have been with us for a few months and are getting their feet on the ground. He has to know maps and compass work and be able to find his way. He must be able to show how to sharpen his knife, build a fire, and cook food on it. He should participate in 5 campouts, or outings and also a flag ceremony. A one hour service project must be done and also join in on a community program on the dangers of drugs and alcohol. He must identify 10 wild animals and be able to swim 50 yards. He then has to prepare his own first aid kit and know how to treat more serious injuries. And last and most important he must show scout spirit. This means he needs to be eager to join activities, help other scouts when he can, and be friendly to all. This is signed off during his Scoutmasters Conference and then if he has met all of the requirements, the board of review grants him his Tenderfoot Rank.


The boy now has been in the troop for 6 months or more and is really anxious to have the status of First Class with all its privileges. To achieve this, he needs to show how to find directions in day or night and complete a 1 mile orienteering course with compass. He must participate in 5 more troop activities and visit with a an elected official on the obligations of a US citizen. He should identify 10 native plants, and serve as his patrol's cook on a campout. He must be able to tie several more complex knots and lash together a camp gadget. He must be able to swim 100 yards now and demonstrate 3 different strokes. He should be able to bandage large wounds, evacuate an injured person for 25 yards, and tell the common signs of a heart attack. Then if the scoutmaster approves his scout spirit and the board of review qualifies him, he now has the rank of First Class and can move more quickly with his merit badges.


This and future ranks now require him to earn merit badges. He must have 6 merit badges and 4 of them have to be required badges for eagle. He has to be in the troop for at least 4 months and hold a leadership position for 4 months. He also must participate in 6 hours of approved service projects. Again the Scoutmaster holds a conference with him and the board of review looks over his requirements. If he does not pass these inspections, he must continue to work on his requirements until they are done in a satisfactory manner.


The boy now is a veteran scout and is skilled in most of the areas of camping, organization, and leadership skills. He is more confident and now has a stronger determination to get his Eagle. For his life rank he has to be in for 6 months and hold 6 months of leadership positions. He needs to have earned 5 more merit badges, 3 of which must be required for eagle. He then has to serve in 6 more hours of service projects, and continue to show scout spirit in all his activities. Again the board of review grants him this rank if he has shown signifigant improvement and passed all his requirements. The scout is examined more carefully now that he is getting more close to eagle.


This is the summit. This is the top of the mountain that he has been climbing toward for many years. He has to serve 6 more months as Life scout, and hold 6 months of leadership positions in the troop. He should have earned a total of 21 merit badges. Most important is his Eagle Project which he must plan, and implement on his own. This project demonstrates his ability to plan and lead others and must be written up in a formal report. After compiling a large notebook of all his ranks, merit badges, leadership positions, projects, letters of recommendation, and his statement of future ambitions, he then goes to Eagle board of review for the troop and also for the council. The National Boy Scout Office then approves him and awards him his Eagle Rank, of which he can be very proud.